Book Reviews · Book Talk · Little Pieces of Writing · Spontaneous Reactions to Books

Book Talk #1 | Review: City of Bones, Ashes & Glass

Hey my lovelies! I just recently finished the first three books in The Mortal Instruments series, and I wanted to talk about them. I’m going to be starting off my series called ‘Book Talk’ where I continuously rant on about a certain book, or their complete series if I’m impatient. Here are the links to GoodReads for City of Bones, City of Ashes & City of Glass. Also, I apologize in advance if my grammar or my spelling is messy, or the organization of this post was just not good. I was in a rush because I had quite a lot to say about this.

SPOILERS GALORE

Scroll to the bottom of this post to see the basic summary of what I wrote about in this Book Talk.

Today’s Book Talk: City of Bones, City of Ashes and City of Glass by Cassandra Clare.

Some Of My Favorite Parts:

#1 – Clary & Jace
Clary: “Is this the part where you start tearing off strips of your shirt to bind my wounds?”
Jace: “If you wanted me to rip my clothes off, you should have just asked.”

#2 – Jace
Jace: “I turn myself down occasionally, just to keep it interesting.”

These parts was hilarious. I don’t know why, but I felt like this quote played such a huge role in their development as characters, and their relationship. Just these few simple words gave me endless possibilities and theories, and other things along those lines. These characters came alive partly because of their descriptions, partly because of their dialogue. What they say really plays a big role in the story.

I also love the part when Luke and Jocelyn are talking, and then Simon just like bursts through the door, then Luke is just like, “Jesus!” and Simon replies with, “It’s just me, but I’ve been told the resemblance is startling.”

I love it when book characters are sarcastic. That makes them so much more alive and appealing to me. I am a very sarcastic person, and I have high expectations for people. When I’m Instant-Messaging with my friends, I expect them to have perfect grammar, and when they make a spelling mistake, I have an urge to correct them. I usually don’t, because that would make the whole conversation awkward. Anyway, the point of this paragraph is that I love sarcasm. I love being sarcastic, and I love hearing people be sarcastic, and I don’t have a clue why. It’s just so comfortable for me, I guess, it’s like a characteristic I look for in people I trust. I just really like sarcasm I guess because even if it’s something serious, it can lighten the mood for almost anything. For my life, though. Just saying.

Do you like Simon? I was kind of suspicious of Simon, at first. I didn’t like him throughout City of Ashes because I thought that he was going to try to force Clary into a relationship with him that she didn’t want. Especially with Jace standing on the sidelines, watching them hold hands and sweet-talk and all that stuff. Also, him calling Clary his girlfriend without her consent or AWARENESS really freaked me out, and I was like … what???! But then as the series transitioned to City of Glass, Simon started to accept that Clary wasn’t in love with him, and decided to end their relationship. I thought that was smart move. He became more supportive during City of Glass, like he was in City of Bones before he confessed his love for Clary. He is now one of my favorite characters in the series.

Jace? Jace is my BAE. His arrogance and his sarcasm and his self-confidence and his willingness to sacrifice his love for the one he loves just is amazing. All this brilliant characteristics squished together in a bowl, mixed in a blender, and poured into a fictional character’s body. That happened to be Jace Wayland. I do admit that he is like Draco Malfoy in a lot of ways, but I still love him. Coincidentally, I loved Draco while I was reading Harry Potter. I wanted Dramione (Draco + Hermione) to happen so much. Now I feel like that kind of represents Clary and Jace. I’m so glad that they finally got this stuff together and started a relationship. Successfully.

I’m kind of confused with Clary, to be honest. I’m not that trusting of her, mainly because she makes stupid decisions. Even though she has an undeniable love for Jace, and I love her for that (I love their love) she still gets him into complicated situations that could be possibly fatal. Then Jace tries to help as much as he can and gets them out of that situation. Unless it’s a moment where Clary can use her secret angel powers and hidden abilities or something to bust them out of trouble. But I still love her … GO KICK BUTT CLARY SLAYYYY.

Luke is the sweetest werewolf I’ve come across, ever. More than Tyler Lockwood (The Vampire Diaries) and those random wolves in Twilight (idk 😦 sorry) or Fenrir Greyback (obviously). He’s so caring about Clary, and even the people that Clary cares about, even though they’re strangers to him. I think that it’s super adorable that Luke was in love with Jocelyn once, and I would’ve gladly chose him over Valentine. I remember during the books when Luke would do something especially kind, and I would just sigh and be like, ‘LUCIAN!!!! ❤ ❤ <3!!!’ Especially during that time when Clary got them through that Portal because Jace had left her behind instead of bringing her to Idris. Instead of freaking out on her – which, by the way, is something I would’ve totally done) – he helped her get through it. He was so desperate that he went to his sister, who hated him back then. He is willing to risk personal humiliation and pain to keep Clary safe. He called his pack for the potential battle in Alicante. Luke is just so sweet and kind ❤ one of my favorite characters.

MAGNUS. BANE. MAGNUS IS MY FAV TOO. He possess’s all the same qualities Jace does, and that’s why I love him. He’s so down to earth and fabulous, and keeps making references to real life. JUST SLAY MAGNUS KEEP ON SLAYING. I’m at a loss for words. I don’t even know what to say. He is just so amazing … plus eyeliner on fleek …

I just recently got notified, but some people are saying that Cassandra Clare based The Mortal Instruments series off of some Harry Potter fan fiction, and I do admit that there are similarities. But I still feel like she gave it a twist, and therefore it belonged to her. Don’t get me wrong, I am absolutely obsessed with Harry Potter, I had an addiction from 3rd Grade to 6th Grade, and that’s longer than my usual obsessions last. Actually, scratch everything I just say. I just contemplated her situation, my situation, and read a few perspectives. It’s not my right to talk about this right now. A lot of people have a bone to pick with Cassandra Clare because of this.

I Wrote About:
– Cassie + Harry Potter
– Characters + Development
– What I Think About Simon
– What I Think About Jace (and a little bit about Draco Malfoy)
– What I Think About Clary
– What I Think About Luke
– What I Think About Magnus Bane

Not necessarily in that order …

+++

Thank you for reading my first post in the ‘Book Talk’ series!

Leave a Reply

